Emeryville does not have one public property-management price. The official company pages reviewed for this guide show percentage plans, a flat monthly plan, tenant-placement-only pricing, and several gaps where a company does not publish a comparable fee. That is not a reason to invent an average. It is a reason to compare complete written proposals for the same property.
What Emeryville Managers Publish in 2026
The figures below come from our Emeryville property management company comparison. They are company-specific terms, not a citywide average. When an official source does not state a comparable number, the table says Not published.
| Company | Management fee | Tenant placement | Lease renewal |
|---|---|---|---|
| Utopia Management | typical 8%-10% of monthly rent | Not published as a comparable amount | Not published |
| All East Bay Properties | 6%-8% of collected rent; property-specific quote within the range | managed clients 50% of one month's rent when new tenant signs and takes possession; placement-only 75%; not charged at continuing-tenant renewal | no separate renewal fee; covered by monthly management |
| Ziprent | Standard $150/month first property; $100/month standard management for each additional property; ZipGuarantee base $250/month. Confirm plan eligibility; promotions excluded. | Standard $1,500 when lease is signed and deposit initiated; unlimited placement included in ZipGuarantee | Standard $250; unlimited renewals included in ZipGuarantee |
| Doorstead | Doorstead Manage 5% monthly during the lease term; $100/month minimum. Place is placement-only. | Place and Manage both 50% of one month's rent, $1,000 minimum, due at lease signing | Renewal service included in Manage; separate charge not stated in the plan table. Confirm the agreement. |
| California Pacific Realty | Not published | 50% of first month’s rent with Full Management; 65% for Lease Only | 25% under Lease Only; not published for Full Management |
| The Cal Agents | Quote required; no public rate, billing base, or minimum | Quote required; leasing is described but no amount or timing is published | Quote required; no public renewal term |
All East Bay Properties: its own fee table and FAQ confirm 6% to 8% of collected rent, with the actual rate set for the property. Managed-client placement is 50% of one month’s rent when the new tenant signs and takes possession; placement-only is 75%. Continuing-tenant renewal does not trigger placement. The site states no setup, renewal, company inspection, administration or statement fee, and no cancellation penalty with 30 days’ written notice.
Those service-fee statements do not make repair invoices, attorney costs or applicable city permit/registration charges free: the same source lists them separately at cost. Multi-property discounts are negotiated individually, not a fixed advertised rate. Confirm the current agreement and any reserve funding rather than treating a missing reserve figure as zero. Source checked September 28, 2026.
The Cal Agents: its public management page describes marketing, showings, screening, leases and disclosures, maintenance coordination, owner reporting, and inspections every 10 to 14 months. It does not publish a management rate, placement fee, renewal fee, setup cost, inspection price, repair markup, reserve, or cancellation term. The current service page supplies no numeric owner price; a consultation booking is not a rate card. That page was checked September 29, 2026. A July 20, 2021 company article, archived September 16, 2021, describes a percentage-of-one-month leasing model and discusses 75% or 100%; it does not establish one exact universally applicable or current fee. Archive checked September 30, 2026.
Ziprent plan check: its base pricing lists Standard at $150 monthly for the first property, $100 for additional standard management, $1,500 placement and $250 renewal. Base ZipGuarantee is $250 monthly with unlimited placement and renewals. Confirm first-time-owner eligibility. Temporary promotions are not used as continuing standard prices.
The FAQ adds a $750 vetting-and-lease service for owner-found tenants and states no maintenance fee. Its linked Online Terms, dated April 5, 2025, permit vendor referral compensation, list a conditional $25 monthly insurance-certificate charge, and generally require 30 days’ written notice to end management. Repair invoices and current contract terms still need review. All sources checked September 28, 2026.
Monthly Management Fees
All East Bay Properties publishes 6% to 8% of collected rent. Utopia publishes a typical 8% to 10% range. Doorstead Manage publishes 5% monthly during the lease term, with a $100 monthly minimum. Ziprent offers the Standard and bundled flat-rate plans described above. These are company terms, not an Emeryville average.
Doorstead’s Emeryville page explicitly offers the Manage upgrade, and its plan table distinguishes Manage’s recurring fee from Place’s placement-only service. Those sources were checked September 28, 2026. California Pacific Realty and The Cal Agents still need verified current recurring-rate quotes for this comparison. California Pacific’s April 17, 2021 archived schedule listed 6% monthly Full Management and a 25% renewal listing without a stated calculation base. Those historical figures are not current offers. Checked September 30, 2026. The Cal Agents’ inspection cadence is a service description, not a priced or free inspection term.
California Pacific Realty described photo-and-checklist move-in and move-out inspections using zInspector in a September 2019 company article. This is a dated description of its method, not a current inspection price, frequency or guarantee of service at this address. Article checked October 2, 2026.
Leasing, Renewal, and Setup Fees
All East Bay Properties lists 50% of one month’s rent for tenant placement under ongoing management and 75% for placement-only service; it lists no lease-renewal or setup fee. Ziprent lists $1,500 for placement and $250 per renewal on Standard, with both included in the $250 monthly base ZipGuarantee plan. Confirm the selected plan and any offer conditions in writing.
Doorstead lists a one-time placement fee of 50% of one month’s rent, with a $1,000 minimum. California Pacific Realty lists 50% of first month’s rent for Full Management placement, 65% for Lease Only placement, and a 25% Lease Only renewal fee. Utopia and The Cal Agents do not publish comparable placement, renewal, or onboarding amounts on the reviewed pages. The Cal Agents also does not publish repair-approval, vendor-markup, reserve, or occupied-takeover terms.
Doorstead applies that placement price to both Place and Manage, due at lease signing. Manage advertises no maintenance markup, platform fee, or termination fee. Renewal work and move-in/out evaluations are listed as services; confirm separate billing and cancellation conditions in the agreement rather than assigning an unverified zero.
Maintenance and Occupied-Takeover Terms
All East Bay Properties says it charges no maintenance markup and passes vendor invoices through at cost. Ziprent describes maintenance coordination and 24/7 online support, but does not publish a separate inspection line. The other schedules do not make a complete apples-to-apples repair comparison. Ask every company for the repair approval limit, emergency process, vendor markup, inspection cadence, and cost of taking over a property with a tenant already in place.
California Rules to Include in the Conversation
For covered units, California Civil Code section 1947.12 sets the statewide rent-increase formula: 5% plus the applicable CPI change, or 10%, whichever is lower, in a 12-month period. The statute has exemptions and a specific CPI method, so confirm the property and tenancy before serving a notice. Civil Code section 1946.2 contains statewide just-cause requirements and exemptions.
Civil Code section 1950.5 generally limits a deposit to one month’s rent, subject to its limited small-landlord exception. It requires an itemized accounting and return of any remainder within 21 calendar days after vacancy, with the photographs and documentation the statute requires for deductions. For a local management proposal, see our Emeryville property management services.
Sources: California Civil Code section 1947.12; California Civil Code section 1946.2; California Civil Code section 1950.5. Checked September 26, 2026. This is general information, not legal advice.
Compare Proposals on the Same Property
Give every manager the same facts: property type, rent, current occupancy, lease end date, recent repairs, and any building requirements. Then ask for management, placement, renewal, onboarding, inspection, maintenance, and cancellation terms. A fee comparison works only when each proposal answers the same questions.
Fee sources and date checks
Compare the applicable service package and current written agreement. Directory reports and historical offers are labelled; a missing amount is not a zero fee.
- California Pacific Realty: April 17, 2021 archived pricing, not current terms — checked 2026-09-30.
- The Cal Agents: July 20, 2021 leasing article, archived September 16; no single exact current fee — checked 2026-09-30.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does property management cost in Emeryville?
Doorstead Manage lists 5% monthly during the lease term with a $100 monthly minimum. All East Bay Properties lists 6% to 8%, Utopia a typical 8% to 10%, and Ziprent lists $150 Standard or $250 base ZipGuarantee monthly. These are company plans, not a citywide average. California Pacific Realty and The Cal Agents need verified recurring-rate quotes; The Cal Agents’ current service page has no numeric owner price.
Which Emeryville managers publish their fees?
Utopia, All East Bay Properties, Ziprent, Doorstead, and California Pacific Realty publish at least one comparable fee term. The Cal Agents’ public management page describes scope, including inspections every 10 to 14 months, but no comparable fee schedule. The published terms do not all cover the same service, so request a full written proposal from every company.
What tenant-placement fees are published in Emeryville?
All East Bay Properties lists 50% of one month’s rent for managed clients and 75% for placement-only service. Ziprent lists $1,500 under its standard plan. Doorstead lists 50% of one month’s rent with a $1,000 minimum. California Pacific Realty lists 50% of first month’s rent with Full Management and 65% for Lease Only. Utopia and The Cal Agents do not publish a comparable placement amount on their reviewed pages.
How much can a covered Emeryville rental increase in 2026?
California Civil Code section 1947.12 sets the statewide formula for a covered unit: 5% plus the applicable CPI change, or 10%, whichever is lower, in a 12-month period. The statute includes exemptions and specifies how the applicable CPI change is determined. Review the current statute and property facts before serving a notice.
What security-deposit rule should an Emeryville manager track?
Civil Code section 1950.5 generally limits a deposit to one month’s rent, subject to its limited small-landlord exception. It also requires an itemized accounting and return of any remainder within 21 calendar days after vacancy, with the photographs and documentation the statute requires for deductions. The details depend on the tenancy, so confirm the current statute before acting.












