Must-Know Tenant-Landlord Ordinances in Reno
Reno is one of two areas that Utopia Management fully services in Nevada. Understanding the laws and regulations around rental property is essential for all parties involved in a rental experience. Landlords, property owners, and tenants must know their legal limitations, protections, and responsibilities regardless of what is included in the lease. The rental laws in Reno largely align with Nevada state laws. Here are some of the most important ordinances to know if you’re considering investing or renting in Reno:
Rent and Security Deposit Limits
In the city Reno and the state of Nevada, there are no rent control laws. This means landlords have no limitations on rent pricing or rent increases. The rent cannot be raised during a lease term; it may only be altered upon lease renewal unless the lease includes a clause that allows mid-term revisions. The landlord must give at least 45 days’ notice of a rent increase if the lease term is at least 1 month. For terms shorter than a month, only 15 days’ notice is required.
In the event of unpaid rent, late rent fees may be charged as long as they do not exceed 5% of the rent. Tenants have a five day grace period to pay overdue rent before the landlord may issue a notice to quit.
Security deposits cannot exceed 3 months’ rent and must be returned to the tenant within 30 days after the end of the lease agreement without renewal. Landlords may be liable to pay a monetary penalty if the security deposit is not returned on time. Of course, deductions from the security deposit can include cleaning fees, unpaid rent, or repairs for damages that exceed normal wear and tear.
One of the mandatory responsibilities of the landlord is providing a habitable dwelling and making timely repairs to essential amenities. As part of tenant housing rights, if these responsibilities are not met, tenants may lawfully withhold rent until repairs are made/the issue is fixed. Alternatively, tenants may make the repairs themselves and deduct the costs from future rent payments.
Evictions and Lease Termination
A landlord may issue an eviction notice for the following reasons:
- Nonpayment of rent: After the 5 day grace period, a landlord may deliver a 7-day notice to pay or quit. If the tenant does not vacate or pay the required rent and any late fees within 7 days, an eviction notice may be delivered.
- Lease violation: Any violation of the lease, such as an unauthorized pet or guest, can result in a 5-day notice to cure or quit, in which the tenant must either solve the violation or vacate.
- Illegal activity on the property: Discovery and documentation of any illegal activity, including subleasing in violation of the lease, purposeful property damage, or any other illegal activity can result in a 3-day notice to quit.
All eviction notices must give a 30-day vacate period, unless the lease term is periodic. Month-to-month and week-to-week lease terms require only 7 days’ notice. Eviction for discriminatory or retaliation reasons is unlawful.
If a tenant wishes to terminate, or not renew, a lease, they must give notice only for periodic lease terms. Month-to-month leases require 30 days’ notice, and week-to-week leases require 7 days’ notice. Tenants may undergo early lease termination for any of the following reasons:
- Any reason that complies with the early termination clause of the lease
- Uninhabitable unit
- Landlord harassment
- Active military duty
- Domestic violence
- Illness or advanced age
Landlords are required to disclose tenants on all of the following:
- Pending foreclosure: Written notice is required if property foreclosure is a possibility at any time during the lease period.
- Lead-based paint: Tenants occupying homes built after 1978 must be notified of the concentrations of lead paint used in the building.
- Right to fly the flag: Tenants must be informed that they have right to display the American flag on the property in a reasonable manner.
Changing the locks as a form of eviction (a “lock-out”) is forbidden, but there are no other legal regulations concerning lock changing by either party.
Right to Entry
Landlords must provide at least 24 hours’ notice before entry of any occupied property, unless a longer notice time is specified in the lease, or in the case of an emergency.
Get Reno Nevada Property Management
For Reno Nevada Property Management Contact Utopia Management today by calling us at (800) 294-4656 or click here to connect with us online.